No time? or Not a priority?

September 10, 2008

“I was busy, hence I couldnt do that”

“I didnt have time to check my email/voicemail”

“I was too busy to call/meet/come”

The above reasons can be tagged as “bullshit“.

We all agree with your highness that a day is limited to 24 hours, and there is only so much a human can achieve in that span, and that your resources and energy are limited as well. We also appreciate the fact that your highness has his hands full keping him busy.

But when something is not possible in your time domain, please do not attribute it to you being busy- it just makes you sound like a snob (I could as well say sob).

The actual reason(s) are one or all of the following-

  • I am bad at time management and I couldnt allocate enought time for that, and hence missed it.
  • It just isnt/wasnt my priority and I had more important thing(s) to do at that moment, hence I chose to ignore or procastinate on that.

Putting up a veil of helplessness (I am too busy, blah) doesnt help anyone, on the contrary, it makes the other person sound inconsequential, as if that person didnt have anything better, who had loads of time and hence made the guffaw of contacting your highness. If I can make an effort to take out a few mins to contact you, you have the minimum courtesy to reciprocate, or worst, atleast acknowledge the fact that you are incompetent and didnt feel like prioritizing it over watching the rerun of Seinfeld.

BTW, I had the time to make this post. My not-so-frequent posting (or responding to comments) here never means that I have no time, it just means- I have nothing worthwhile to say.

I rest my case. I am now back to room temperature.

3 Responses to “No time? or Not a priority?”

  1. rads Says:

    lol@your vent.
    Don’t get me started on time management too. It sucks when adults start making excuses .. which are quite lame.

    You really ought write you know. Missing you around πŸ™‚


  2. You forgot – ‘O shit! I completely forgot, I’m so sorry!’ – when it’s so obvious that they didn’t forget shit but that they’re just being negligent. It’s just rhetoric to convince you that they are putting you away! Aaaah! It’s frustrating!
    Avunu babayyaa, mandi ye ooru?

  3. Pavan Says:

    [rads] missing me? Feels good to know that google bot isnt the only visitor here πŸ˜€

    [sthitapragnya] it took me longer to type your handleName than this sentence πŸ™‚ manadi Vijayawada mama, whats your co-ordinates?


Leave a Reply

