links in a chain

April 8, 2008

Various links in a chain exist for strength (or information) to be passed on from one end to the other. The elements in between are not mere transporters, i.e., they should not just blindly pass on the packets but “attempt” to process them. Why? So that a) junk gets filtered and b) the next person (most probably an expert and more experienced) needs to process less to find the solution to the problem quickly.

In an organization, when a hierarchy exists, not every small issue gets escalated to the topmost.. they get processed, chopped, distributed so that the overall efficiency of the group as a whole increases.

Same is with chain forwards: one should not blindly forward emails just because it is easier to hit the forward button, but if he/she takes a mere 2 seconds to see if it makes sense (or is genuine), a lot of headache is reduced. Now why would I spend that time to process when I could just pass it on, what do I gain? The goodwill is reciprocated.

This rambling stemmed from the way I sometimes see issues getting escalated (say in a corporate scenario or library) without proper inputs from the various hands it passes: since when was the issue existing, what might have triggered it, who else has seen this etc etc.

When a patient goes to a doctor, he gives various hints (symptoms, etc) for the doc to analyze. He doesnt just lie on the examination table expecting miracles to happen. The more the info, the better the results. And that makes us humans rather than just iron links in a chain.

6 Responses to “links in a chain”

  1. rads Says:

    nayana, emiti ee vedanatam Ugadi rojuna? :\

    okay okay! relevant comment coming up – you know I hate forwards unless they are absolutely funny and make me rofl or if they are important enough. Even Gods don’t scare me. :\
    If I do have to fwd, then I delete the whole chain o emails thru’ which it got filtered and send as if I was sending it out – fresh, not recycled πŸ˜‰

    i know, me cool ;-D

  2. Pavan Says:

    hehe, plagiarism aa.. πŸ˜›

    ee parva dinam had to vent out sthing πŸ™‚

  3. Srikanth Says:

    Interesting thoughts!!!
    May be some introspection going on in minds about something???

  4. Sruthi Says:

    Hey… true what ever u said… but I don’t want to miss on that …exasperated look my best friend has when I’d be sitting just beside her and forwarding the worst kinds of emails to her from an id unknown to her and finally give my name at the end of the mail… πŸ˜€

  5. Pavan Says:

    [Srikanth] thanks (for patting my thoughts).. just had to spew some venom in the most diplomatic way πŸ˜‰ do you think these stand true from your perspective?

    [Sruthi] hehe, I see traits of sadism in you

  6. sruthi Says:

    well… sadiZm would be a reeeeeelly in appropriate word…

    i would say “NIRMAL AANAND” …. ring any bells?


Leave a Reply

