Unsolved Mysteries

January 4, 2008

Here are some of the mysteries of 2007 that I hope would make sense to me soon:

1) How is “it” going?: What is “it”? My car, my life, or my laptop? Nobody tells what one means by “it”, and nobody asks. Imagine if someone asks ‘how is it going’ and I say ‘what are you referring to’.. In such situations, acting know-all is better than being curious George. I do not even want to demystify the greeting “How is it hanging”. Let us just stick to plain old “how are you doing”, shall we?

2) “You gotta do what you gotta do”: I had to say this because I had to say this (!). Recursive recursion? This is worse than double negations.

3) Why does maturity follow a bell curve wrt age? Around 55, the insanity gene kicks in: a couple of days back, an elderly gentleman was literally fighting with me for a parking spot (by snatching what was mine) at a temple on new year’s day. I just gave up.

3 Responses to “Unsolved Mysteries”

  1. rads Says:

    wrt 3 – it aint maturity per se, it’s the circle o life ๐Ÿ˜‰
    but really, the visual of the old man and u grappling over a parking spot is quite the fun one ๐Ÿ˜€

    Don’t u fret, you did the right thing ๐Ÿ™‚


  2. When I was growing up, the conversation starter used to be “How’s life”. I learnt this ditty (an old English ballad) by heart and the number of aunties, uncles, cousins and miscellaneous dudes I managed to flummox was well worth the effort

    To that question I would reply (still do)

    Life is like the ripples
    Caused by a pebble
    Cast in a slow silent stream
    Ever widening
    Disappearing
    Like Childhood’s green dreams.

    The effect is truly amazing. Try it some time

  3. rambhai Says:

    nice goin rads~~~the circle of life~~you start as a stupid baby~~~~end as a relatively lesser stupid man~~`


Leave a Reply

