How old are you?

December 19, 2007

Sometimes a simple question as this can have various annotations (often hidden from mainstream eye, and by that I mean blind people like me) when asked by different people. These notes were written after assessing various situations and was not a sudden realization. I would appreciate any corrections or alternative perspectives to this.

1) Elder woman residing in India: They have their own facebook/myspace like network. They instantly fill an imaginary profile on your behalf after hearing your age and start “scrapping” their peers about possible marriage proposals.

2) Elder man residing in India: He instantly calculates your years of experience (roughly) from the age and then plugs that number into a secret mathematical formula that vaguely depends on the current INR-USD-INR forex rates and gives you a score (more accurate than FICO).

3) Desi female in US: There was this small desi meet of 2 friends (and 2 of their friends) in Cal that I once attended where after 2 days, this female asks me this question and her reaction to 25 was “omg, you are younger to us”. Well, guys generally do not ask (and somehow it is the norm of the society to *not* ask) but when she asks him, it means that they are filling a probable’s form mentally, and at that moment were at the “age” field. This inference was confirmed after having discussed with another female friend.

4) Colleague/Peer: It isn’t legal (atleast during recruiting) to ask, but the social aspect somehow gets that answered. And this is asked when (possibly) assessing a person as a threat. Age is asked here for projection analysis.

5) Friend/Senior who is about 5 years older: Mostly for his introspection, a lil comparision, and then most probably to impart some wordly advice wrt what-to and what-not-to do. I love this category.

There are other uncategorized perspectives, like seeing how matured one is (by getting to know the age) or trying to see how 2 people (irrespective of gender, culture etc) can share somethings so deeply (and trying to attribute that common factor to age).. etc.

A simple question, with a definitive answer can mean so many things to so many people, and this thought interests me (how naive).

12 Responses to “How old are you?”

  1. rads Says:

    lol, so how old are you Pavan? πŸ™‚

    ..and sure you can ask me the same and I won’t pull any of the above on you πŸ˜‰

  2. Pavan Says:

    26.. πŸ™‚ and I have a rough guess from your posts πŸ˜€

  3. rads Says:

    rough guess aa? hmm.. ikkade pappulo kaalu vesedi πŸ˜›

  4. Sanjay Says:

    26 and still Bal Hanuman πŸ™‚

  5. Pavan Says:

    My mom says that I am still a kid to her, hence I am trying to see myself thru her eyes πŸ˜€


  6. […] finds that a simple query about your age may mean different things to different people. I am still waiting to find out – how old is Pavan? 2) Elder man residing in India: He instantly […]


  7. haha! I look young and people refuse to accept my age! LOL!


  8. it is weird sometimes but most of the times its fun πŸ˜›

  9. Rajan Says:

    Nice humorous post πŸ™‚
    By the way I think you have a typo …did you mean connotations instead of annotations ?

  10. Supremus Says:

    Eh – I am quickly reaching that stage in life where asking me for my age makes me just shrug and give the other person a “why are you even asking me this!” look. Nothing wrong in them asking me, after all I look older than I am, but now I am looking as old as I am, and *that* bothers me hehehe!

    So, again, how old are you?

  11. Pavan Says:

    IL: yes, it is fun but age is quite deceptive.. as you confessed πŸ˜‰

    Rajan: must.. resist.. writing.. w/o daily dose of caffeine.. thanks!
    PS: whats your GRE Verbal score? πŸ˜‰

    Supremus: 26 earth years.. and as regards to our experiences/probs, I guess online personas are always better, what say? πŸ˜€

  12. dewdrop Says:

    Liked this post. Especially the point number 1 πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

