age and marri-age

May 22, 2007

Maybe it is the age that is kicking in, but a recent conversation with an aunt went like this:

Aunt: “So, when are you coming to India?”
me: “ahem, when I am out of prison, I meant out of some pending obligations here that make me feel as if I am chained.. please dont take my previous pj literally and spoil my 1% chance of finding a female”

aunt: “hehe, (no idea what the pj was), and any girl you found interesting?”
me: on-screen or off-screen?

aunt: huh?
me: how is your arthritis? I suggest you do morning walks..

aunt: yeah, I know, but once I see you married, everything would be fine..
me: hmmn, an engineer with medical powers! wow, am I superman or what?

aunt: anyway, dont dodge the bullet, any female you are hooked up with there, that you need to convey to your parents about? dont worry, you can confide in me..
me
: yeah right, my mom has not asked this question since 1996 AD knowing well about my courtship skills, how come you have confidence in me.. maybe some day.. maybe.. till then..

aunt: till then what?
me: money, aunty.. let me stand on my feet and fill my coffers (my depleted savings account).. then I could think of something.. i.e., if the IRS and credit card companies allow me to.

aunt: haan, but it is okay to choose a girl for yourself. Don’t be under the impression that your parents would freak out, as long as she is a Bram, it is fine.. Tamil, Telugu is secondary.. remember [insert name] anna? He is fine, kadaa? I had a girl in mind, but she is from another subsect, else matters would have gone forward.. if she has a job, it would be great..

me: I wish you had a daughter..
aunt: you stole my words ra..

me: I was kidding, I was teasing your urgency to see me married! ayyo, aunty.. is uncle there?

Telephone is a boon and a bane.

5 Responses to “age and marri-age”

  1. anishadutt Says:

    hehe πŸ˜€

  2. shark Says:

    he..he.. so the pressure is mounting huh? enjoy πŸ˜›

  3. Cinamon Says:

    LOL. no one asked me that question… :(. how i wish i could have gotten a taste of typical indian marriage stress.

    wait till they start hammering for “good news”. standing naked would be less embarassing… when they ask “uhmm u know u guys are not using the *barrier* i hope?”

  4. Pavan Says:

    Anisha: πŸ™‚

    shark: enjoy? why do I need enemies when I have ‘friends’ like you! πŸ˜›

    Cinamon: Please dont push me to further limits of fear, Brahmacharya rocks! πŸ™‚

  5. Cinamon Says:

    This is just the tip of the iceberg my dear boy. i havent even told you the gyan your male elders will give. wanna know???

    ok. i know u want to kill me :P.


Leave a Reply

