Save Paper

February 7, 2007

How does our bank save on paper and postage? When they send their monthly newsletter, we (3 roomies) used to get multiple copies of the same mail sent to this address. But innovative ways were found when this month we received only 1 letter addressed to “The Kumar household” (we 3 have our middle names as kumar, unless they meant that we were some kinda family with same last name).

I shall make sure my next roomie isnt a “kumar” so that I get some personalised mail.

6 Responses to “Save Paper”

  1. Mysorean Says:

    Wow! That’s some analysis by the bank! But they mistook your household for a family of ‘Kumars’. Maybe they should invest more into profiling the names they are grouping! I really liked this post! Shows how much of thinking the banks are doing, but then they also seem to be goofing up! Never mind, trial and error is the way up the ladder! πŸ˜›

  2. Srikanth Says:

    Thats very good.
    You should be very happy with the bank, that they are doing some analysis and may be some “personalised” service.
    The fact that they managed to locate that there are three letters to the same address is amazing.
    I would be happy to see such things, because I would be convinced that they would analyze “out of normal” dealings as well to protect my money(If I have something left at the end of month) with them…

  3. Gorrepati Says:

    Hmm.. How about a sql query that “checks” for commonality among roommates names?

  4. Gini Says:

    Hey! That’s cool. As long as they don’t exchange money from your accounts, it does not sound too bad. πŸ˜‰

  5. porcupyn Says:

    pavan:

    great one … what if your next roommate is a kumari? πŸ™‚

    i guess you would also qualify for the “unkool” status.

    – s.b.

  6. Pavan Says:

    Mysorean: yeah, innovation starts from trying to maximize utilization of existing resources

    Srikanth: protecting my a/c comes into pic when I have something worth protecting in it πŸ™‚

    Gorrepati: ya, but it is their effort that shocked/surprised me.. maybe they realized all the newsletters anyway reach the trash

    Gini: I so wish they mixed my rich roomie’s a/c with mine!

    s.b.: kumari? then I guess they would have addressed to the kumar*.* household πŸ˜›


Leave a Reply

