Mythbuster

October 27, 2006

Nothing wrong with stereotyping desis, but here are some gems (this is some weekend bakwaas that we had discussed about here, after we ran out of all the possible topics.. including naming Madonna’s new adopted baby: Rahul or Chris?):

  • Indians are bad in bed: ahem, isnt that good, else we would have overtaken China long back..
  • Bindis, or red dots are symbols for married women: they are the emergency stop buttons to stop a blabering desi female.. nope! even guys have modified versions of bindis, and it comes in various colors (Asian paints? mera wala red!). It is just to signify that the atma resides at that place.
  • Oh, nice meeting you.. so are you (also) into computers?” and I go: “yeah, if you want to reach me, call 1-800-DELL and ask for Pavan to get 15% discount.. and I whould be your (tech) support for the night..”
  • Myth: You people are so good at numbers, my answer: hmmn, let me tell you a secret.. I dont own a computer.. I keep a bunch of desis in my basement who store the 0’s and 1’s *wink*
  • You guys are so shy.. my answer: nope, we have the introvert desis and the extrovert desis.. the introverts are the ones looking at their own feet and the extroverts look at your feet! but seriously, no, though many might be, we do have many over-enthu-extro-maniacs as well
  • You are all into arranged marriages, arent you? my answer: do we have a choice? refer to myth#1
  • Why do you guys eat with hand? Is that a religion or something? nope, we know where our hands have been.. we are that sure.. so why do you use spoon/fork again?
  • Guys in India seem to be like in a fraternity, but lil over the limits: I have seen pics of guys holding hands, with hands over other’s shoulders, etc. eeeks! are they gays? nope, that is a trick! we photoshop those pics and put a hot female’s face instead of the other guy.. you just happened to see the wrong pic.

Hope this has scared you enough. Boo! Happy Halloween!

12 Responses to “Mythbuster”

  1. shark Says:

    LOL!!!LOL!!! I really liked the 3rd and 4th point!! You are the Best! πŸ™‚

  2. gorrepati Says:

    β€œOh, nice meeting you.. so are you (also) into computers?” and I go: β€œyeah, if you want to reach me, call 1-800-DELL and ask for Pavan to get 15% discount.. and I whould be your (tech) support for the night..”

    He heeee… That was a good one.

    One thing that I get asked all the time is “What platform do you work on?” and .. and.. and.. they continue.. “Is it Java?”. Seems
    like Gulti == Java

  3. hardu Says:

    he he he.. I like the first one.

  4. vin Says:

    Hilarious !!!
    I like the eating with Hand myth… many have asked me often… now i know what i shud ask them, will ask and state ur blog as reference … ha ha ha


  5. […] Pavan tries his hand at busting some myths about Desis […]

  6. Vi Says:

    β€œOh, nice meeting you.. so are you (also) into computers?”

    I get that a lot in college. And it *especially* bothers me because I’m a double major of Education and History…nothing related to science or computers. Ugh!

  7. Pavan Says:

    [shark,hardu]: thanks!

    [ravi] add SAP, and the obligatory “sapa ekkava?” “baava”!

    [vin] thanks, could you please direct some brunettres to this place? πŸ™‚

    [Vi] If you have specs, then you are thought to be a nerdy programmer, and I pity that you lose recognition due to stereotypes like us.

  8. icyman_11 Says:

    your reasoning for arranged marraiges is really worth publishing!! πŸ˜‰

  9. Casy Says:

    You have a great sense of humor πŸ™‚

  10. Srikanth Says:

    And let me tell you one more question I was asked.

    You drive on the wrong side of the road…
    [Me] No, we drive on the “left side” of the road. (I am thinking on the back of my mind, and donot say to him because he is a client… opposite of right is not always wrong. it can sometimes be left)

    And for another comment which says “Which platform you work on?”
    This happened many times to me in Bangalore-Hyderabad train, if the other guy is relatively new to software industry
    [Me] Certianly not Cantoment station or Kachguda station. I am more platform independent πŸ™‚

  11. Pavan Says:

    [Srikanth]: hehe, and how true: “opposite of right is not always wrong. it can sometimes be left”

  12. Shruti Says:

    Hehe .. good one.. I use this one:

    Firang – Oh you are from India .. but you speak good english. How come?

    ME: Yeah.. so do you :PPPPP

    I copied this one from somewhere and use it everytime i get “complimented ” on my angrezi πŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

