Introspection

October 20, 2006

This part of the introspection is sponsored by Adi.

1. Are you happy / satisfied with your blog, with its content and look?
Partly yes (with content), but I am looking for something bigger and better (in quality).

2. Does your family know about your blog?
No. But I dont mind. I blog (to them) every 2 days over phone.. saves them bandwidth!

3. Do u feel embarrassed to let your friends know about your blog or do you just consider it as a private thing?
Yes, because I lose creative independence by shattering the anonymity cloak. And people who dont appreciate my space are fine, but those who ridicule have their place reserved in my hitlist. I had some previous posts on blogspot, but deleted it. And then I discovered WP (after a brief hiatus) and the rest is history.. but there isnt a week when I dont think twice of deleting this place.

4. Did blogs cause positive changes in your thoughts?
Yes, Getting perspectives always helps. hehe, all the words in the previous sentence ended with “s” except “Getting”.

5. Do you only open the blogs of those who comment on your blog or you love to go and discover more by yourself?
Both, time being the factor. My breaks usually revolve around surfing known places, but more idle time does take me to random surfing.

6. What does visitors counter mean to you? Do you care about putting it in your blog?
It means everything! I refresh my own page to see the numbers climbing and I get a high out of it! Ok, seriously, it is not a big factor, except for that I know how many people I have reached every day (other than spamming ofcourse).

I have a counter because WP allows me to have one, but I am happy without it as well. But I somehow detest using adsense (like alpha-2.blogspot.com and greatbong dont have one) because I dont feel like selling my thoughts. They are worth more than those few cents I gather from the clicks/hits. Apologies to those who use, these were just my (screwed) views. Time is money, and when one puts in time to put down thoughts, they have the right to make money out of it, but I somehow think that drifts from being a personal thing to being commercial.

7. Did you try to imagine your fellow bloggers and give them real pictures?
Oh yeah, it is an exercise I love to do. It helps me guess how online identity gives in the real identity. It is a project I would like to work on further: Online vs the-real identity.

8. Do you think there is a real benefit for blogging?
Yes, it is an online cafe/bar where one meets random people, make friends or get to know others without moving one’s ass. Could it get any better?

9. Do you think that bloggers society is isolated from real world or interacts with events?
If it is a personal thing, it doesnt matter, but a political blog ought to be close to real society.

10. Does criticism annoy you or do you feel it’s a normal thing?
Constructive criticism is always good, but comments like “you suck! you die in hell” go to my Iranian girlfriend, named Akismet. She takes care of them. (PS: yes, Akismet is a spam filter).

11. Do you fear some political blogs and avoid them
Yes, unless they are spiced with humor and give a rational view. Greatbong and Youthcurry (blogspot) are a must-read.

12. Did you get “shocked” by the arrest of some bloggers?
No, we have occasional power-blackouts here, so no-current–>no-shocks. On a serious note, yes. Freedom of speech should not be witheld (unless it is Himesh Reshmayya or Arjun Singh)

13. Did you think about what will happen to your blog after you die?
On my death-bed, I would give the “will” to my kids, which would also have the ID and pw for this place. They ought to know how I was back then (I mean present), and flashbacks are something I cant afford. They have my genes, hence hopefully they get the writing bug too.

14. What do you like to hear? What’s the song you might like to put a link to in your blog?
“aasman ke paar shaayad aur koi aasman hoga” from Rockford..

Happy and Prosperous Deepavali! May goddess Lakshmi shower her blessings on us.

6 Responses to “Introspection”

  1. shark Says:

    πŸ™‚ As usual at your best!

    Hello! The answer to the 13th question was copyright protected πŸ˜›

  2. vin Says:

    nice one!!
    Everyone is passing their blog to their grand children… πŸ™‚

  3. Mysorean Says:

    Good one! That’s well done! πŸ™‚
    With the usual dose of humour and sarcasm! πŸ˜›

  4. tejas Says:

    Hmmm..

    Truly introspecting!

    I think I should do the same.

    By the way.. Nice Blog!

  5. Pavan Says:

    [shark] thanks! I had no choice for q#13 πŸ™‚

    [vin] That is the least I could give them (imagine they asking me Ferrari and me saying “here is one from my hot-wheels collection”)

    [Adi] thanks, I had to oblige to your command.

    [Tejas] this was done at gunpoint.. so you know how I felt! and thanks, keep visiting.

  6. Lusidvicel Says:

    Hello, i love pavan.wordpress.com! Let me in, please πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

