Miracles do happen

April 19, 2006

After about 2 weeks, I went to the gym today. I was chained, dragged and threatened by my roomie, hence the miracle. But there was something BIGGER that happened.

I wore 2 shirts, one over the other so that I could protect myself from the cold and also look more muscular. So I was there cycling happily in the cardio room. Looking around, the people, the view through the glass, the mountains, the people, the TVs, the people. I saw my friend in the mirror, running over the treadmill. I was smiling because he reminded me of Phoebe jogging in Friends, the sitcom.

Then something happened. The birds stopped flying, the waves in the oceans stopped, time stopped. A desi female came to me. I knew it! My smile had that charisma. Then a fear gripped me. I thought I was using her cycle and she wanted me to get off. I was preparing some dialogues to talk to her. But she gave a handshake. She was blabering something, I couldnt understand. Dumbo! take off the earphones. I smiled, and gave a handshake.

"Hi, my name is Dee".
"Hi! My name is Pavan"

At this stage, let me tell you: there are ver few instances the female species (outside my family) has approached me, like this time the nurse wanted to change my diaper when I was a baby, this teacher who wanted to hit me in school, this bus conductor in Hyderabad who wanted to check my bus pass, this sales girl at Shopper'sStop, etc.

"I am doing PhD in C&J, what about you?"

I thought PhD? ugh! she is lil older (atleast 3?). But it's okay. She likes me. "I am doing my masters here."

"So, what are you doing this weekend?" [all this while smiling]

Now this was it. This isnt April 1st. Cyrus (my Phoebe like roomie) wasnt playing any prank. This wasnt dream because even there such things dont happen. I was totally taken back.

"Ahem not sure. Why?"

"Well there is this survey project I am doing and I was wondering if you would like to watch a movie and give me some feedback"

The birds resumed flying, the ocean water fell flat.

"Friday? ahem.. how much time would it take?" It was my turn to play the tough guy. As if I was busy during weekends. I either log-in to my department server and work from home, or attend some get-together at my desi fraternity. Still, the ball was in my court.

"Not sure, it would start at 6:30 and let's see how things turn out."

Now, there she was trying to be naughty. I thought I still had some hopes.

"I am not sure how much time, there would be a bunch of desis and as the discussion goes, it depends you see. There is this movie called ****** (something I never heard of)"

My cycle was going downhill. A bunch of desis on a weekend?

I dont know what happened over the next few minutes. But she ended up taking my cell number, my email ID, my GPS co-ordinates and implanted a chip inside me so that she could ensure I couldnt escape this weekend.

Any guess where I went after the cardio room? yeah, the room which had the punching bag. As I was coming out, I saw her approaching another desi. I laughed, and thought "there goes another entry in somebody's blog".

I was leaving gym, and saw another desi female coming in the corridor. I took the fire exit. My weekend was already booked!

Footprints:

He asked her, "Will you marry me?"
She replied: "No".
He lived happily ever after.

13 Responses to “Miracles do happen”

  1. hardu Says:

    Hey good luck. This girl might be older than you but then among the other desis who come there, you might find some good chick. πŸ˜‰

  2. Pavan Says:

    Hey Hardu, thanks. Actually I wasnt interested in this girl (ya right, every guy says so). I still would go to the movie because I think I heard “free-food” πŸ˜‰

    btw our diff. is lesser compared to the 3 yrs, what say? πŸ˜€

  3. Jo Says:

    he he he…”Phoebe jogging in Friends” … LOL !!

    “Cyrus (my Phoebe like roomie)” – considering how interestingly weird phoebe is ..you must be having a real interesting time with this roomie… πŸ™‚

    hope u enjoy the movie and let us know what happened..:)

  4. WB Says:

    I liked your comments in DT so much, I HAD to stop by. Great going, Pavan! BTW, how about a *review* of that *movie*?

    #maLLI kaluddAM#,
    WB

  5. hardu Says:

    Che che che! I told you that I will look for a “suitable” girl for you and you are still aiming for an old lady like me!Atleast keep your expectations high. πŸ˜›

    If I marry you, I will only have to feed you. I will think about it after you graduate and find a suitable job. πŸ˜‰

  6. Pavan Says:

    [harry] ahemmmm aahaaaa
    [Jo] Yeah, its phannee out here πŸ™‚ Sure, shall let you know abt weekend.
    [WB] thank you. Sure, I shall post the updates. But I shall exit as soon as I have my dinner πŸ™‚ BTW I have seen you often at DT and at first I thought you were Warner Bros. and now I know the fullform πŸ˜€ So, you too are abcd?
    [Hardu] expectations high? okay do you know any "suitable girl" taller than 6ft? πŸ˜€

  7. Apoorv Says:

    Good Luck Mate !! I wish it will be memorable time for you πŸ™‚ ,waiting for Monday to read the updates !!

  8. aditya Says:

    What? She was scouting people for a movie? Hmm…maybe not too many Indians in your place..

  9. aditya Says:

    Ahh those rare occasions when one meets a member of the opposite sex.
    Thats why I suggest that the History and Mathematics departments should be merged.

  10. Pavan Says:

    hee hee I totally agree. Spanish Dept. is also worth considering πŸ™‚

    BTW not sure why but your previous 2 comments got filtered by the spam blocking mechanism! now it's no more a prob.. I removed it

  11. Suyog Says:

    Hahahahahha! This was funny – err, so did u ever end up going to the movie or did you discover suddenly that your advisor had an important paper for you to review!

    Sigh, the lovely gradslave days !

    Suyog

  12. elfstone Says:

    Dude, that was one well written post! Nostalgic shit πŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

