Penguin attacks India

April 9, 2006

My article at Desicritics on this subject. Too lazy to copy the text here, hope you are not too lazy to read it there.

Snippet: On this story about Negroponte (MIT Media Labs) saying that Linux is too 'Fat' for the $100 laptop, these were some of the comments (funny, ofcourse) posted at Slashdot:

(*) Yes, it is fat! It takes forever to start Linux on a PC compared to Windows98. And after giving the command to shut down, it scrolls dozens of lines of incomprehensible text showing its 'shut down process'. And all the distributions that I've tried work like this. It feels like I'm shutting down the entire Pentagon.

(*) Linux is NOT fat. The architecture is just big-boned. (got the joke? Hello? SouthPark?)

9 Responses to “Penguin attacks India”

  1. hardu Says:

    Linux does appear like Greek and Latin to me. πŸ˜€ My boss uses Linux and hence I always see him moving around small window panes. I have never used a Linux machine myself but have heard praises from everyone who has used it.

  2. hardu Says:

    Now I see that you have changed your blogtitle from shoonyam to abcd, were you actually born in andhra? πŸ˜‰

  3. Pavan Says:

    Oh yeah, very much. I am an Andhrite (rhymes with Naxalite and Dynamite?) πŸ˜€

  4. hardu Says:

    Che! I was so hoping that you were not born in andhra as I would have got company as a complete nomad. πŸ˜›

  5. hardu Says:

    BTW, are you also a Naxalite? πŸ˜› (just kidding)

  6. Pavan Says:

    BTW, are you also a Naxalite?

    Also? hmmn so you confess being one? πŸ˜›

  7. hardu Says:

    Grrrrr! The “also” was for being an andhrite as well as a naxalite!

    Anyway, I am not an andhrite, so I can’t be a naxalite as naxalites are from andhra. πŸ˜›

  8. tezi Says:

    Hi increase the font size. It will be more comfortable to read.

  9. Pavan Says:

    thanks for the feedback Tezi, I am on the lookout for a good and simple template. Hope WP releases one soon. Also, right now we dont have much choice as regards to customization. But, I shall try to fix that.


Leave a Reply

